What was your first job ever?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What was your first job ever?

Just posted my most recent youtube video about getting a job while in school and really establishing your financial discipline & foundation. I was asking those who've been working for years/decades what their advice would be to those just starting out, and to share what their first job & pay rate was. Back in high school I was a pizza driver earning $7/hr + tips....ahh, the good ol' days.

EDIT: If anyone feels like sharing on the video itself, feel free. https://youtu.be/ud04-oNRiFQ
    Last edited by commoncentsmike; 05-11-2017, 09:39 AM.
    Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbV...5W56pRkf4EM6XA

My first job was as a junior counselor at summer camp. I went to the same camp for 17 years, 5 as a camper and 12 as staff. We made next to nothing, a few hundred for the season, but I wouldn't have changed it for anything. Those were some of the best times of my life.
    Steve

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
    * Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
    * There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.

Comment

Working on my grandpas farm, I think it started when I was about 8 and he would pay me for small jobs and the responsibility grew from there until I hit 17 and moved away. The pay was whatever he felt like giving me but he was generous. I've had people ask me if I am serious when I say 8, absolutely, on the farm you were contributing as soon as you were able.

My first W-2 job was making/delivering pizzas at 4.25 an hour plus tips. I did that from 15-17.

Comment

Counter clerk for a little mom and pop auto parts shop, I think it was $5.75/hr in 1988, I remember asking for a raise and got a nickel
        retired in 2009 at the age of 39 with less than 300K total net worth

Comment