Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opinions please, should I refinance my car lease early?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opinions please, should I refinance my car lease early?

I have a lease on a.2018 Honda CRV, great car and I plan to keep it. I have another year left on the lease and I'm debating the pros and cons of buying it out now with a auto refinance loan. I'm thinking if I refinance now then my next year's payment will be towards something I will own vs. paying another's year's lease payment and still looking at probably 3 year loan.
    the current payoff is about $19,500, monthly payment of $309. I have funds to pay it down to $15k, get a refinance for 36 months at 2.5% and monthly about 288.

I'm a weekend driver so car is in great condition (garaged) and about 13k miles.

The specific numbers may vary somewhat, but in general I'd say that the sooner you get out from a lease, the better. That said, I'm surprised that the refinance (with $4.5k extra principle down) would only save you $20/mo -- typically a lease charges the equivalent of around 10+% interest (including fees, "cost of capital", etc). I'd still do it to get out from under the lease's thumb though.
    "Praestantia per minutus" ... "Acta non verba"

Comment

If you plan to keep it, then I'd do the refi to get rid of the lease so you can start taking ownership.
      Brian

Comment

I'm not super-well versed in car leases, but buying a lease early would really depend on the residual value that Honda Credit would let you buy it for. If it's the $19,500 you stated; how does that compare to current market values? If it's under market value, then yeah, it makes sense to buy it. If not, then you have to look at the residual at the end of the lease and any other fees you might owe. It sounds like you're keeping mileage low, so that's good...

Comment