Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Boss is ALWAYS chewing people out instead of just asking for things to be done!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boss is ALWAYS chewing people out instead of just asking for things to be done!

My boss, middle aged woman, very powerful in her position chews you out instead of just asking to have something done. I'm new to this company and have been working since I was 16 years old, total years-almost 40 years. I take my jobs very seriously, do a very good job over and above what's expected, but this boss seems to treat many people like this and vents on 2 mostly that report directly to her (me and another woman). Others in the sales department report to another boss who she is over. So me and the other woman I work with report directly to this venting woman. Everytime she has raised her voice and chewed my butt out, I've showed her my efforts and what I've done to take care of things. She NEVER ask in advance, just starts carrying on. She usually calls me on my desk phone and vents. I have to hold the phone from my ear! When I show her I've thought of that already and what I've done to work towards getting things done, she still carries on.

Any suggestions on how to approach her and tell her I'm fed up and that this is not necessary to talk to me this way to get things done (without jeopardizing my job?) I like the job, just don't like how she handles things

What does the other lady do (your peer and co-worker), when this boss bullies her?

The best way to "work with" bullies that are your direct report, is to just nod and listen; don't argue nor feed their rant. Say nothing.

Since she treats others the same, it's not personal, it's just the way she is. Just continue to do the best you can.

This site may help you to recognize and understand: