15% To Retirement (Even with Pension?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

15% To Retirement (Even with Pension?)

Hey everyone! In August, my husband and I will be done paying off all of our "little debts" (cc, car, his student loans) and will be left with our home mortgage, rental property mortgage, and my 20k student loan. We're going to start paying down either the rental property mortgage or student loan right away (with an extra 1200/month for debt reduction hopefully that'll be gone fast!!), but we figure we'd like to up our retirement contributions first. I'm just looking for a little guidance on what would be best.

I am almost 25 years old and I've been working for PennDOT for 2 years. 6.25% of my pay is deducted for my pension and I contribute another 2% currently to our 401k equivalent. I've heard varying percentage's as a goal for retirement contribution, ranging from 15-20%. Do I count the percentage that I have currently going towards my pension as retirement savings or do I count that deduction as just a "bonus"? In short, if 15% is sufficient for retirement, is my goal 8.75% to 401k (or does that 6.25% for my pension not "count" and I should contribute 15% to 401k?)

Hopefully i didn't confuse anyone with that!

My husbands situation is a little more cut and dry so i don't think I need to elaborate. But still, would 15% total be best for retirement or 20%? I understand it all depends on your goals for retirement, but if anyone would like to put in their 2 cents or any rules of thumb they've heard, I'm all ears! Thanks!

At your age I would work harder on paying off debt before investing. I would start investing 15% when you reach 30 and 20+% when you reach 40. Just my opinion.

Comment

If you're trying to do the Dave Ramsey thing, this is what I heard him say on the podcast once--he means 15% total. In my case, 5.5% of my pay is going into my pension, so I would be saving an additional 9.5% on my own.