Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any thoughts on bond funds at this point?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any thoughts on bond funds at this point?

I've read a number of reliable sources talking about an impending problem for bond mutual funds as rates tick up. Other than sticking to shorter maturities, what else could be done to lessen the risk while remaining invested in bonds? I have no experience buying individual bonds but I know that's an option since as long as you hold the bond until maturity, the rate fluctuation doesn't matter. There are also TIPS to consider but I don't really know a whole lot about those either.

Any thoughts from the bond investors out there?
    Steve

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
    * Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
    * There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.

Don't you visit bogleheads.org Steve? There are more threads over there on this subject than you can shake a stick at.
    seek knowledge, not answers
    personal finance

Comment

if you study the history of tips, I think you will find they tend to be more volatile that nominal bonds. that has to do with the fact that their coupons are lower. they can get hurt worse in a rate backup that is not driven by inflation. however if you look at uk tips during high inflation periods, you will find their rates tended to peak at 3-4%, whereas nominal bonds might go to 10% or something.

there are also some retail products that are structured to move inversely to bonds. powershares might have some - seems like their style. you can probably structure the same thing by just selling bonds or shortening maturity. you would only use something like that if you were restricted from selling the bond funds you already own and want to hedge it.