How do I get my first credit card?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I get my first credit card?

I'm a college student who is looking to start building my credit rating. How do I go about getting one? I here lots of people are being denied now. could my parents cosign possibly?

Simplest way to go is to shop around for a credit card (CreditCards.com is a good option), and just find one you think will benefit you. Hopefully you never even consider carrying over a balance month to month. If that is the case, don't worry too much about interest rate. Look at, instead, other benefits to you. Also, be careful to avoid any credit cards with some sort of monthly or annual fee--in almost all cases, they're never worth it, and you can find one that's just as good without the fees.

As for actually qualifying, even today it shouldn't be a problem. Do you have a job/income? If so, you can almost assuredly qualify at least for a basic, $500 limit card. Look also at student credit cards, which are targeted specifically to college students. Try to avoid using your parents as a financial life-line, because they won't always be there (or want to be your financial backstop). Stand on your own two feet, take care of yourself, and you'll be fine--don't use them to co-sign anything for you, particularly credit cards.
    "Praestantia per minutus" ... "Acta non verba"

Comment

Are you willing to cut it up if you do not pay in full one month?

I would suggest you start with a gas card with a 500 limit.

Comment

Look around campus for offers. If you do not live with your parents, ask them if card offers have been arriving at their house. My son gets them all the time since he started college; I jut throw them away.