Announcement

Collapse

Happy Thanksgiving - Stock Markets Are Closed

Happy Thanksgiving!

The stock markets in the United States will be closed on December 25th, 2021, in observance of the Thanksgiving Holiday.
See more
See less

Looking to dig myself out... School me!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking to dig myself out... School me!

First time poster. Looking for some advice before I make any further mistakes.

Quick summary: I was an international student in the United States and my tuition to a state college here was paid for privately in my home country. During my last semester, a change of circumstances basically left me high and dry and with a $15,000 tab for semester tuition. I had essentially no chance of paying this off, as I was not able to legally work, between visas that allowed me to work. I was able to get odd jobs here and there that were able to pay my rent, food, utilities, but it left literally nothing to pay off any of that debt.

I didnít think I had a chance to do anything positive about it, so I just never responded to the University, and then any collection agencies. Not by mail or phone. This has been going on since 2015. I have been uncertain until 2018 that I could stay in the United States, so I also did not want to contribute any money to a debt that might be essentially irrelevant to me if I had to move back home to the other side of the world forever.

In 2018 my situation has changed, and I am now able to legally work and remain in the US. I probably will be here for the rest of my life. Right now I will make between $75-100k this year before taxes. I want to clean any debt off my record, as it has plagued my credit score (though this does not seem to have been a hindrance at all in my life), and I fear that one day I will be taken to court over it. Also I want to no longer fear unknown numbers on my phone. A peace of mind.