A friend of friend threw away my 300 worth suitcase last year

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A friend of friend threw away my 300 worth suitcase last year

A friend of friend threw away my 300 worth suitcase last year. Should and can I chase her for compensation now?

I'm an university student. In 2015, I took a year abroad and left my stuff at my friend's house. She rented that house with another four girls. In Oct 2016, I returned back to university. At around the same time, my friend and the other three girls moved out, only one girl who continued to rent that house. My friend took all of her and my stuff to her new house, but forgot one of my suitcases. We later found out the girl who still stayed at the house had donated my luggage to a charity van. She claimed because even though 4 people inc my friend had moved out, there were still a lot of things left in her house, which got her angry. She said she had asked the other 3 girls, but forgot to ask my friend. And as a result, she threw away the suitcase. Inside the suitcase had many new stuff and invaluable sentiments of mine, total value were about 300. I didn't escalate this for a compensation. Now think about it, I feel I was so stupid, but I was totally a mess at that time. I had lots of things to worry about and catch up after a year off. My friend kept crying, blaming that was her fault of forgetting the suitcase, which was awkward. I did try to ask around charity shops in my city. The girl said she gave it to a BHS van, but my local BHS said they didn't receive my suitcase, which got my suspicious whether or not I knew the truth. With other more important things to do, I had to put this issue aside and time flies before I realised. Now the end of academic year is coming, I'm thinking about my suitcase again. I feel really angry towards that girl who never said a single word of sorry to me, everything was through my friend.

Do you think I should and can chase her for compensation?