I need help, please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need help, please.

Hello, I'm new to this but I'm in a moment of a crisis.

I recently moved out from an apartment complex after finishing up my lease with a couple. I cleaned up everything that belonged to me, cleaned out my bathroom and my bedroom to the point of being brand new looking. Well, the couple did not, they left various things behind and their dog tore apart the floor. Months later they told me they're charging 500 for all the damages and I said I'd help them pay it. His response was "Pft no I'm not paying this."

A month later I get a letter from a debt collection agency for $1,000 regarding the apartment. I was not the primary tenant of the place, it was him yet it was some how transferred to my name. I have school debt to pay as is and now this is added onto my name and he STILL refuses to pay for his damages that he caused but I'm the one that has to suffer for it. Is there anything that I can do to get this lifted off my name? IS there a way to put it under his?

Whose name was on the lease? If your name was, did you get anything in writing from the landlord when you moved out documenting the condition of the apartment. There should have been an inspection at that point.

If you have no proof of the condition when you left and damage occurred after that, you're probably out of luck unless you want to sue the other tenant who you were sharing the place with.
    Steve

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
    * Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
    * There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.

Comment

Do you qualify for legal aid? You have the option of serving papers on the lease holder and sue in Small Claims Court for sum you paid the landlord for damages. It's a lot of work and hassle since the onus of proof lays with. You need photos and evidence to prove you were not responsible for damages.