Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I Risk Going to Court with a Creditor That Refuses to Work With Me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I Risk Going to Court with a Creditor That Refuses to Work With Me?

Idaho (but I currently live in MD)

I am currently dealing with an Idaho-based creditor who is extremely inflexible. I am a government contractor, and my finances have been troubled ever since the October shutdown(I didnt recieve any backpay).

I have requested numerous times for a moreaffordable payment plan, they refuse to work with me. I eventually ended up maxing out a credit card to pay for late fees and daily interest when I was almost 30 days late. I have to make payments every two weeks, and if I dont pay, even if its a day late, they call and send my file to their pre litigation department.

Its getting to the point where my normal household bills are in jeopardy(rent, utilities, car/car insurance, IRS bill, groceries,etc.). Not to mention, my actual job is on a short time frame; a month after the shutdown, my employer announced that they were losing the government contract in March2014. AND they took our benefits, our tuition assistance, and my separation pay. So now in addition to normal bills, I will now have to pay student loans as well.

I am to my breaking point, and Im considering letting this Idaho debt end up in court, because I can no longer risk my livelihood to pay these people. I honestly feel my rent, my groceries, my energy bill, and my IRS bill are more important than this installment loan.

I am afraid of not paying them, the threats ofbeing sued and having my wages garnished are stressful. But it is too much atthis point. They are the only creditor that refused to work with me.

Any advice is appreciated.

Sorry for typos. I am on my phone.

Hi, Soopremebeing. This response probably isn't what you want to hear; but I mean it with the best of intentions in an effort to be helpful.