Student Loan

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Student Loan

My wife and I graduated last May and have about 160k, with an average of 6.8 percent, in student loan debt, yay! We started paying them in December. We have it set up now so we both will pay off the debt in 10 years. $400 goes towards mine and $1400 goes towards hers. Our ultimate goal is to pay it off within 5 years if not 3-4.

We have about 3k-4k that we would like to put towards the loans every month.

Would it be more beneficial to try and pay off mine, @ 30k, as fast as possible and use the snowball affect towards hers, @ 130k? While obviously paying her minimum payment for the 10 year plan. I am trying to get some advice for the best way to approach this situation. Thank you in advance for any information! If you need any more specifics please let me know! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Chris

Put the extra money toward the loan with the highest interest rate.
    Steve

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
    * Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
    * There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.

Comment

Others might be better here, but my line of thought is that the larger debt with the same interest rate is going to amass more in repayments than the smaller debt. Therefore, I'd be looking at getting rid of the big one first.

Although I'm unsure how the US student loans are compounded.

Comment

Originally posted by DinoSaur View Post
        Others might be better here, but my line of thought is that the larger debt with the same interest rate is going to amass more in repayments than the smaller debt. Therefore, I'd be looking at getting rid of the big one first.