Help for a College Student

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help for a College Student

Hi everyone and thanks for taking the time to read this.

My name is Jon and I'm a college student living in off campus housing because my school which is The New York City College of Technology doesn't have on campus housing. My situation is complicated an I was hoping for some advice from anyone. I currently owe my school close to $3,000 and to add to that I also won't be able to register for this semester until this is paid. This brings me to my next problem which is the fact that I use the money from the financial aid to pay for my student housing which is $11,025. I've tried private loans,but that's not going to happen. The student housing company which is EHS (Education Student Housing) is trying to work with me, but I can't even afford the monthly payment plan. I'm unemployed an don't have much experience because I'm 20.

Any advice or tips for my situation would be greatly appreciated.

Why can't you get private loans? Do you not have someone willing to co-sign?

Sounds like you need to put some serious effort into getting a part time job. Being able to show you have income would help to pay the bills, but also possible help you qualify for private loans. Tutor, walk dogs, wait tables. Anything to bring in some money. Your school should have a financial aid office, I would think. You should sit down with them as well and see if they can help you. Maybe they have resources that would be able to find more financial aid for you?

Comment

I agree with breathemusic -- a part-time job in your situation is vital. $3,000/semester for spring and fall is absolutely doable with part-time jobs, especially if you work through the summer and use that to supplement what you make during the regular terms.