Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhaust Savings to Pay Off Credit Card?

Hello all

New member here, my name is Wes. I am currently a college student studying to become a CPA.

I currently have a credit card balance of roughly $1500, accuring 29.9% interst (!!!). I pay $100 each week and plan to have this balance paid in full around September of this year.

I have $2000 in an emergency savings account and I am very tempted to throw most of that money toward this card to pay it off as soon as possible. I have every intention of making 'payments' to myself after this card is paid off, to accumulate some money to throw at my student loans once I do graduate. I have calculated that I will only save $30 in interest if I were to pay off this card tomorrow.

Is this a good idea? Or should I keep my emergency savings and continue my weekly $100 payments to pay off this card? Would a balance between the two be effective?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Welcome. As you've figured out, even though the rate is obscenely high, the amount of money involved is not thankfully.

I would split it. Since you have $100/week free, I'd suggest taking half of your EF - $1,000 - and sending that to the credit card. Then pay the rest over 5 weeks. After that, use that $100/week to rebuild your EF.

Seeing as you are studying a financial discipline, you have hopefully learned your lesson. Don't ever use a credit card again to make a purchase that you can't afford to pay for in full when the bill comes. Don't ever carry a balance again.
    Steve

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
    * Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
    * There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.

Comment

I agree with DS. I would leave $1,000 in your EF and use the other $1,000 to knock out the credit card balance a bit sooner.
      Rock climber, ultrarunner, and credit expert at Creditnet.com

Comment