Federal Direct Stafford Loan Refund?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Federal Direct Stafford Loan Refund?

Sorry if this is the wrong forum to be posting in but I just have a quick question. I'm a student at Penn State and I'm basically paying for my entire education in loans. A few months ago I got an email that said I received a refund of about $800, and that this money would be automatically placed into my bank account. I called our Bursar's office and they said it was a refund from a Federal Direct Stafford Loan. I'm a little confused though, can I spend the $800 that was put into my bank account? Why would I get a refund on a Federal loan? I would have asked more questions when I called but I think I was talking to a secretary who didn't know much...Thank you to anyone who can help!

I think because when you fill out the loan paperwork they are guessing high because they want you to be able to buy books and any other school "need" then when it has been totaled what you did and didn't buy from the school store on credit is refunded to you.

Yes you can spend this.

Comment

Exactly, when you apply for the stafford loan or whatever anything that is left after the tuition is paid is yours. always keep in mind it is a loan. I am assuming that you don't qualify for the pell grant? Also was advised today by a friend that the unemployment office has lots of extra money for school. not sure of fact of this just what I was told.

Comment

I do get the Pell Grant actually, $1600 a year. This school is horrible with student aid though, pretty much all the aid I got is from Pell or PHEAA...I should probably have chose a cheaper school :/

Comment

Watch it - that's my alma mater! LOL
          Yes, what you get back is the difference between what it costs and what you were given in aid, and it's all yours to spend, but you will have to pay it back.