Saving Advice Forums  

Go Back   Saving Advice Forums > Financial Chit Chat > Personal Finance

Personal Finance Credit cards, home loans, retirement plans and taxes. The place for all your personal finance questions.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Fishindude77

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2017, 06:51 AM
$ Saving College Sophomore

Forum Posts: 908
Default Recommend best Credit Cards?

For years all we've ever had is a personal Visa card (Cabelas). For the second time in a year it got hacked and I was declined when trying to buy gas. Luckily I carry a business card which I was able to use, but that creates some reimbursement hassles.

I think it's time we got a second card, as this could be a real pain if one was shut off while on a long distance trip.

What are some suggestions for cards that have good cash back returns?
Old 07-17-2017, 07:25 AM
Administrator

Forum Posts: 5,744

I have a CITI MasterCard.
2% cash back on everything.
No annual fees
Old 07-17-2017, 07:32 AM
Super Moderator

Forum Posts: 26,568

I think you'll get a dozen different answers.

Some people find cards with quarterly categories are too much to keep track of.
Some of us love those 5% deals and take full advantage of them.

Our main card is a Marriott Rewards Visa (by Chase).
For cash back, we alternate between Discover and Chase Freedom, only using them for the 5% deals. For example, this quarter it is 5% back on restaurants. Since we eat out quite a bit, that 5% can really add up.

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
* Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
* There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.
Old 07-17-2017, 07:37 AM
$ Saving College Senior

Forum Posts: 2,351

If you want to maximize cash back, you may need to carry more than 1 card.
What card(s) will work best for you will depend on the categories where you spend the most.

The Nerd Wallet web site is a good site for info to help you choose.