Saving Advice Forums  

Go Back   Saving Advice Forums > Financial Chit Chat > Investing & Banking

Investing & Banking Stocks, bonds, banking interest rates, CDs and all other investment vehicles you want to talk about.

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2018, 08:19 AM
Administrator

Forum Posts: 1,051
Default Have You Ever Invested A Large Lump Sum In One Stock?

Folks I've been mulling over my investing strategy for the past ten years or so. Back in 2010 I put about $30,000 into Pfizer (PFE), factoring in the dividends, I did okay. This has got me thinking:

Did you ever buy a large amount of one stock (in comparison to your net worth)?

Did the approach work for you?
Old 05-28-2018, 06:36 PM
$ Saving College Senior

Forum Posts: 1,764

Negative, Unless you count my RSU's, but I don't think that's what you are asking. And I sell them the instant they vest.
Old 05-28-2018, 07:08 PM
Administrator

Forum Posts: 6,032

I've never gone into any individual stock that represented more than 1% or so of my overall portfolio. I don't want a significant portion of my wealth tied up in any one security
Old 05-28-2018, 07:41 PM
$ Saving College Senior

Forum Posts: 2,141

So I've got a funny story.

Back in the fall of 1999 when the NASDAQ was going parabolic, a friend of mine told me to buy IDC. Being young and dumb, I did. I think I paid right around $5-6 per share and I bought about $10K worth if I recall correct.

Well, a few days later it went to soaring and I asked my friend what he thought, and he said "IDC isn't soaring, you're looking at the wrong ticker."

Well as it turned out, I had mistakenly bought IDCC and I didn't even know what I bought! Yet here it was blasting right through $20 in a week two! Then $25, $30, $40, $50, $60, $70, then past $75 I believe! All in a few weeks!

Well, it started crashing and I *think* I sold out for around $54 IIRC, so I made like $100K on that in a month.