Saving Advice Forums  

Go Back   Saving Advice Forums > Financial Chit Chat > Investing & Banking

Investing & Banking Stocks, bonds, banking interest rates, CDs and all other investment vehicles you want to talk about.

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2017, 01:02 PM
$ Saving Second Grader

Forum Posts: 10
Default Managing saving for different things

Hey all!

I'm just getting into using investments for savings. I currently have two mutual funds from Vanguard and I'm trying to get as much of my savings out of my savings account (aside from my rainy day fund) so that it actually gains interest. (I think I averaged about $0.15/month from BofA last year).

My question is this: How do you manage saving for different things? For example, retirement, new house, car, etc.

Do you have different allocations for different things? Like, a more conservative investment for money set aside for a new car (assuming you'll need it in 3-5 years) and a more aggressive investment for retirement? Do you simply keep track of it in a book/spreadsheet?

I hope my question makes sense... Happy to clarify if it doesn't.
Thanks!
Old 09-09-2017, 02:23 PM
$ Saving College Senior

Forum Posts: 1,584

You should be very careful about investing your savings.

Having said that... the rule of thumb is that the father away the goal, the more risky the investment.

For us (and most people, I presume), retirement savings is handled separately from other types of savings, since it's usually handled by 401(k) and automatic IRA contributions, and in more aggressive/risky investments.

For everything else, I keep the money in a combination of a single online bank savings account at Ally Bank and high yield bond fund (the thought being that the high yield would mitigate loss of capital from rising interest rates) at Fidelity (for convenience).