Saving Advice Forums  

Go Back   Saving Advice Forums > Financial Chit Chat > General Discussion

General Discussion Please read our Forum Rules before posting
Feel free to talk about anything and everything about money.

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2017, 02:28 PM
$ Saving Sixth Grader

Forum Posts: 70
Default Hourly vs. Salary

I'm currently an hourly employee at my company where I've been for a few years now right out of college. I have a Bachelors degree in accounting. I'd say I maybe work 5-8 hours of OT a year right now in my current position but it's usually by my own doing, not a requirement. Sometimes I stay through lunch and will pick up that hour as OT or use it to make up for wanting to leave an hour early. One time when I ran out of vacation days and needed to be off for an extended family members funeral I asked to take a leave without pay day. I guess you can't do that with salary.

With the new year, I'm considering asking to be salary. In this company, if you're hourly using the time clock you are viewed as less than. Sounds dumb but it's true. Salary is viewed as a more respected position here, as least from what I've seen. I've almost left this company for other positions and those were all going to be salary but with OT pay and a little more pay but have been persuaded to stay by my boss. My current company would not offer OT pay on salary. My work right now is definitely doable within 40 hours.. Heck even like 25 hours honestly. But I still have to be there 8 hours, 5 days a week. And I often check my work email from home but not because I have to.