Saving Advice Forums  

Go Back   Saving Advice Forums > Financial Chit Chat > General Discussion

General Discussion Please read our Forum Rules before posting
Feel free to talk about anything and everything about money.

Like Tree25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2017, 01:27 PM
Super Moderator

Forum Posts: 26,568
Default What do you do to earn extra money?

This topic has come up in some other threads so I thought it would be good to get this conversation going in one place.

If you do anything "on the side" to earn additional income outside of your regular job, tell us about it. A lot of people feel that earning extra income isn't possible because of their work schedule or childcare obligations or some other reason, but thanks to the internet, there are countless ways to earn money without even leaving your home in some cases. So let's hear them.

Personally, I've been selling collectibles since 1986 and I've done it online since 1994. If I really focus on it and devote time to it, I can definitely bring in a couple thousand dollars per month. I don't currently do anywhere near that much because I don't need or want to and it's far more lucrative for me to pick up extra shifts at work instead. But if the extra shifts ever went away and we needed to replace the income, I'd go back to online sales in a snap. I buy things to sell at yard sales, flea markets, thrift shops, outlet stores, even regular retail stores on clearance. I've also sold many things rescued from the trash around the neighborhood. Those are the best sales of all since my cost basis is zero.

As long as you have a way to take pictures and internet access to post the listings, you're all set. A smartphone is also a great resource because you can use it to check the resale value of items on the spot and only buy things that look to have a good resale market.