Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I buy a house, keep renting, or move back to my parents' house?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I buy a house, keep renting, or move back to my parents' house?

I need some advice from all of you. I have been renting apartments for the past 11 years after I started working a full-time job. I lived in apartments for around $600/month for 9 years and I have been living in a $450/month apartment since 2013. I have decided that it would be better to buy a house after losing so much money to renting that I can never get back. Earlier this month, I met with a mortgage loan officer at my bank for a preapproval for a loan. I gave her my W-2 forms, tax return forms, and bank statements, and I was preapproved. I was looking at buying a house for maximum of $90,000 and considered putting down a 20% payment of $18,000. The bank would, of course, loan me the remaining $72,000 for a 30 year mortgage if I decide to purchase a house.

But if I continue renting the $450/month apartment, I could move right away after my full-time job is over. Also, if I shared a two bedroom apartment with a roommate to lower the rent even more, I could always move whenever. Of course, I can always call the landlord if there is a maintenance issue. There has not been any maintenance issue so far with my current apartment. The problem with renting is that you can't build equity on the rent, so I am embarrassed to say that I lost over $75,000 renting apartments over the past 11 years!

However, if I lived at my parents' house, I would have absolutely NO expenses. Keep in mind that I wouldn't have as much privacy and I also work full-time for one of my parents. I don't need to live with my parents and I was able to put aside money in savings despite living in apartments, including money in mutual funds and retirement accounts. But living at my parents' house is another option worthy of consideration.