Just in Need of Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just in Need of Advice

Whats up, I need some advice concerning my financial situation and future goals. I want to buy a house next May (May '09). I graduated (I'm 24) with my degree in computer engineering in Dec' 07, and have a great job with great benefits.

I have about $9.5K (5 credit accounts, one in C/O but being paid down) in credit card debt with interest rates betwen 9.9% and 29.9%. I am diligently paying those down and hopefully they'll be zero balances by November by paying minimums on all, and then paying one off with all (or most ) extra money after I'm paid. I have school loan payments that kick-in in July.

I also just started to put (& not touching it) away $250 every two weeks into my ING account (so far $750). I also am contributing up to the company match (5%, company throws in 7.5%) for my 401K and have been since my second paycheck.

Only other bills (monthly)
    $460 - rent
    $100 - cable/internet
    $60 - cell phone
    $100 - water/electricity
    $40 - car insurance
    $200 - gas
    $150 - food

My question is, should I continue to put $250 into my savings account indefinately or take most of that away (keep whats in there in there) and start throwing that at credit card debt? Just need some decent advice.

Thanks.

$250/month is 3k per year. If you want a house in 10 months, I'd expect to see credit card debt at zero and around 10-20% saved for down payment (20k). Have you set a realistic goal?

Comment

Yes, keep adding the $250 savings - at least until you get a decent little emergency fund set up, then start knocking that debt down!

Comment

Thats the plan. Once I pay off my credit cards, I am going to throw all of my remaining money (& spring bonus) towards the savings for the downpayment and other associated costs.

Comment

$250 every two weeks...not $250 a month!

Comment