Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

$90000 In Student Debt. What Are My Options?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

$90000 In Student Debt. What Are My Options?

I am presently a graduate student and will most likely accumulate about $90,000 worth of debt (Stafford subsidized and unsubsidized loans). Is there a site or information on how best to work at paying these loans off, consolidating them, companies that will pay some of the amount if you guarantee to work for them for a period of time (I will have a MPH/MHA degree). Any information or resources you can give would be helpful. Thank you!

I would strongly urge you to consider offers to pay back your student loan for you. Usually you'll have to commit to a certain length of service or risk a lump sum repayment for the amount they paid. That would severely limit your ability to change jobs, or to work your current job without pressure.

Student loans are the best type of loans you'll get. They typically have lower interest, are easy to defer if you lose your job or go back to school, and the interest is tax deductible.

I don't have a site you can check out, but my advice would be to drag out your student loans for as long as possible. If you have extra money left over, put it in your retirement account.

As far as consolidation goes, you want to do that while you're still in the deferral period. You'll get more time to shop and usually better rate as well.

Plus depending on how Congress sobers up, there's a slight chance that they may pass new laws to help student loan borrowers. There's currently a backlash against predatory student loan lenders.

$90K isn't a huge sum, but it does become a burden if you're on a fixed budget. If you drag it out it'll help your cashflow and maybe you'll get a break from the government as well.

Good luck.

Comment