Portfolio Mix

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Portfolio Mix

Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum. I am 35 with a 401k account and I have been investing for a long time. My strategy shifted about eight years ago. I had very little diversification in my portfolio which shifted to more diversity. I would like to retire at 55. What do you think of this allocation portfolio? Is this too much? Is it the right percentages? Any feedback would be appreciated!

1. 15% bonds
    2. 18% asset allocation (2045)
    3. 12% S&P 500 Equity Index
    4. 28% Value yield equity and growth equity
    5. 10% international stock
    6. 6% US Small / Mid caps
    7. 6% Emerging Markets equity
    8. 5% Company stock

The problem with figuring out your asset allocation, is that there is no right or wrong. I think your percentages are reasonable, not too heavy in any asset class and spread out well.

You might have some over lap, if 2. 18% asset allocation (2045) is a target index fund, because that also contains us equities, bonds and international stocks. So your overall allocation might be closer to 17% bonds and 15% international stock, but that isn't necessarily a problem.

Comment

Thanks for the feedback. I was thinking it might haVe been off a little with the allocation fund.

Comment

Originally posted by Macheta View Post
        Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum. I am 35 with a 401k account and I have been investing for a long time. My strategy shifted about eight years ago. I had very little diversification in my portfolio which shifted to more diversity. I would like to retire at 55. What do you think of this allocation portfolio? Is this too much? Is it the right percentages? Any feedback would be appreciated!

1. 15% bonds
        8. 5% Company stock
        If you pick the asset allocation fund, I would not pick the other 7.

If you want the other 7, I would remove the allocation fund.