Millennial's Difficulty May Have Been Spawned From Being Hit By Bad Timing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Millennial's Difficulty May Have Been Spawned From Being Hit By Bad Timing

This is interesting. I don't think we talked about this but Millennials sure graduated out of college right when the financial crisis hit. Then as they try to get their footing in the world the pandemic hit. I can see how people who were new to the job market in 2019-2014 would have a horrible time to get ahead in life even with a good degree. I remember our hospital had a hiring freeze which means even doctors couldn't find work. As much as I believe in self destiny, many millennials were indeed dealt a crappy hand.

I graduated college in May 2008. It certainly wasn't a great time to be the new guy in any company, especially in the financial world.

Gratefully I was somewhat insulated from the immediate effects by going straight into the military.... However, my cohort was later faced with the subsequent effects of high military retention due to the poor employment market -- I've gone through 3-4 rounds of both voluntary & involuntary separation boards, as well as a higher degree of competition for continued promotion/retention/selection for positions.

While I've weathered it was relatively fine, I definitely have friends & family who have faced a great deal of struggle in establishing & sustaining a coherent career path.
    "Praestantia per minutus" ... "Acta non verba"

Comment

I don't think it would be a stretch to create a similar storyline about many other generations.
      How about "the greatest generation"; born and raised during the depression, then just as they are reaching adulthood WW2.

Comment