Student Loan vs. House

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Student Loan vs. House

I graduated in May of 14' from college and I am 23 years old. I bounced around from a few jobs and make a decent wage. I currently have $25,000 is federal student loan debt and owe about $17,500 interest free on a car I recently purchased. I've been working full time since my freshman year of college and have been fortunate to save. I have about 26,000 in my savings with a growing 401k each pay check. I still live at home and my expenses are still low each month. Do I pay down most of my student loan debt down or continue to save for a house? Not even sure if I would even qualify for a mortgage any time soon with having 3 jobs in the last 2 years.

Originally posted by bjam27 View Post
    I graduated in May of 14' from college and I am 23 years old. I bounced around from a few jobs and make a decent wage. I currently have $25,000 is federal student loan debt and owe about $17,500 interest free on a car I recently purchased. I've been working full time since my freshman year of college and have been fortunate to save. I have about 26,000 in my savings with a growing 401k each pay check. I still live at home and my expenses are still low each month. Do I pay down most of my student loan debt down or continue to save for a house? Not even sure if I would even qualify for a mortgage any time soon with having 3 jobs in the last 2 years.
    Get rid of your other debt then buy a house with as much down as you can afford (preferrably 20% but that's not realistic in many cases).

Comment