Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Considering bankruptcy - need sincere advice

Greetings,

My father is in a difficult financial situation and I am hoping I can get some sincere advice to help guide him in the right direction. Because I am not a financial expert and a lot of this is new to me also, I ask for your patience with my lack of real estate/financial vocabulary and with my possibly obvious final questions...

First some background: both my parents have always had excellent credit. This allowed them to jointly buy our current home more than 15 years ago. About 4 years ago, my parents decided to open an equity line that would allow them to make an emergency loan to some relatives (~$55,000). Our relatives have paid down only about ~$15,000 (leaving their current bal: $40,000).

A year or so after that, my dad agreed to help my younger sister buy a house. The house was paid for with an "80/20" loan, which meant that my dad used two personal loans (loan A = $248,000 and loan B = $42,000). Unfortunately, my sister and her partner separated and the house could no longer be paid for. My dad tried to cover the mortgage payments for the house by using money from the equity line. After $20,000, he gave in and the bank that lent the larger loan (A) claimed the house.

A little over a year ago, my father also had to deal with a tremendous pay cut (current monthly pay now ~$1080, mom's mo. pay ~$1000/mo, total = ~$2000). So, he again started to rely on equity money to pay our current home's mortgage ($1200/mo) and other utility bills. This has brought the total balance in the equity line to $85,000.