Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I have debt, she doesn't - what should I do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have debt, she doesn't - what should I do?

Hi, I’m new here and would like to ask some advice. I came to Canada 2 years ago and found a great job very quickly. I’m an electrician and have a Union job, making more than $36/h. So, new country, good money, single, mid 30’s, no kids, you get the picture. I rented a nice expensive apartment, bought a new expensive car, was eating out EVERY DAY, nice and expensive clothes, expensive nights out, expensive gifts to friends and family. I spent a lot and I spent what I didn’t have. My current debt is around $23,000 in 3 credit cards.

I’m here to ask not about a budget but about finances in relationships. Some time ago I met an amazing woman, we started dating and we are talking about marriage. She works in a lab and makes less than me (around $27/h) but is way smarter, has a great condo (still paying mortgage), NO debt at all, spend less than she makes, the whole thing. She’s also a David Ramsey fan (I’m reading his book right now).

So, my question would be… she believes a couple has to share everything, good and bad, but I feel such a loser having accumulated so much debt (in a very short time), have nothing to show and now she will help to pay for MY mistakes? How would you guys deal with a situation like that? If we both were young and just starting life together it wouldn’t be a big deal, but I don’t know, being closer to 40 than 30 (both of us) I’m having problems with that. She’ll be the one in charge of our finances, she’s very organized and enjoys this kind of stuff, but I don’t know, I still think I should pay for my debt alone, not to mention I will be moving to a nice house that she bought and started paying before me. Shouldn’t I at least give her the same amount she alread put in her condo so we would be 50/50?

Am I being too stupid?