Best Frugal recipe books

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Frugal recipe books

I received a gift certificate for amazon.com, so I was trying to find the best frugal recipe book to get... any suggestions? And while we're at it, the best frugal books too would be appreciated.

Any favorites?

Re: Best Frugal recipe books

If a frugal recipe book means having information about how to handle any type of foodstuff, frankly I'd make a case for Joy of Cooking.

I kinda like hunting for these in used bookstores - the 1973 JoC will give you information on how to field dress a squirrel, while the 1997 version will give you info on how to use a wide variety of whole grains - quinoa, for instance.

Comment

I am a foods and nutrition teacher so cookbooks are my area of joy!! The joy of cooking is like an encyclopedia of cooking and everything is in there but I don't ususally pull day to day recipes from this book.

I am always a big fan of the "betty Crocker" cook book. I just picked up an old one at a garage sale for .25 and love it. Sam's club some times has this reasonably for about $10