Does Eating Healthy Really Cost More?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does Eating Healthy Really Cost More?

My husband and I have been focusing on healthy eating for a good two years now (with a slight decline in healthy foods more recently with relocating and some additional stress). Together we've lost around 180 pounds (between the two of us). A lot of people have asked us for tips on eating healthy while staying on a budget, claiming the unhealthy food is cheaper. However, when I go into the store, fresh fruit and veggies are super affordable. Chicken breast is cheap (though other lean cuts and fish can be more expensive). I find we spend way more when we are eating unhealthy because we wind up eating out, buying bread, ice cream, and other things we really just don't need.

What are your thoughts on this? Is it really cheaper to eat unhealthy foods?

This is such a common myth. I think people like to perpetuate it to justify their own bad behavior. "I'm fat because I can't afford to eat healthy stuff." That's one giant crock of BS. As you and your husband have proven - and congrats to both of you - eating healthy is generally cheaper. Avoiding processed and packaged foods and eating out and instead cooking from scratch at home is way cheaper and healthier.
    Steve

* Despite the high cost of living, it remains very popular.
    * Why should I pay for my daughter's education when she already knows everything?
    * There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.

Comment

I've found doing meal prep with healthy foods to be cheaper than packaged food or eating out.
      It's more work, but it's definitely cheaper and way better for you
      Brian

Comment

I would agree it is a common myth. I
        I find most of that is many people simply do not know how to cook and are sometime disappointed since they are used to high sodium and overly spiced items in processed food.

Comment

Originally posted by bjl584 View Post